• Details


    Jessie MONTGOMERY Strum for Orchestra

    TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, Op. 23
    Joyce Yang, piano

    DVORAK Symphony No. 7 in D Minor, Op. 70

    Get Digital Program

    Bring your sunglasses for this program, as pianist Joyce Yang, with her joyful energy and dynamic musicianship returns to dazzle us with Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1. The shimmering and rhythmic Strum is a chamber piece transformed into a full symphonic work that will leave you beaming. Dvorak’s Symphony No. 7 is often considered one of the best-known examples of post-Beethoven symphonic composition. You will be captivated by the combination of sparkle and power this program has to offer.



    Don’t forget to join us for INSIGHTS in Encore Lounge at 6:45pm before the concert! Discover the meaning behind the music in this informative, informal discussion presented by Maestro Hankewich and special guests. Free to all ticket holders!

    Ticket Details

    Single Tickets & Student Tickets On Sale July 26!

    Students age 18 & under are eligible for a FREE ticket with paying adult. Subject to availability. Zones 2-5 Only. Some restrictions may apply.

    College Student tickets can be purchased for $10.

    Student & College Tickets MUST be purchased through at the Ticket Office by phone at 319-366-8203 or in-person at 119 Third Avenue SE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401.

    Health and Safety

    Face coverings are not required for this concert. If, as a member of our audience, you feel more comfortable wearing a mask, please feel free to do so. Orchestra Iowa reserves the right to change this masking policy in response to changes in public health conditions, CDC recommendations, and updated policies by federal, state, and local jurisdictions. Additional Details

    Listen to Joyce Yang on Spotify: