• Details


    Gabriela Lena FRANK
    Leyendos: An Andean Walkabout (IV. Coquetas)

    Jerry OWEN
    Concerto for Piano and Orchestra
    Miko Kominami, piano

    RACHMANINOFF Symphonic Dances, Op. 35


    Take a deep breath of fresh air with the compelling music of two living composers! Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout explores the Andes mountains in Peru, mixing elements of classical and Peruvian folk music traditions. Our own principal pianist, Miko Kominami, breathes life into Iowa composer Jerry Owen’s piano concerto. Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances inject energy and exciting tone color variation. This program is revitalizing, contemplative, and original.



    Don’t forget to join us for INSIGHTS in Encore Lounge at 6:45pm before the concert! Discover the meaning behind the music in this informative, informal discussion presented by Maestro Hankewich and special guests. Free to all ticket holders!

    Ticket Details

    Single Tickets & Student Tickets On Sale July 26!

    Students age 18 & under are eligible for a FREE ticket with paying adult. Subject to availability. Zones 2-5 Only. Some restrictions may apply.

    College Student tickets can be purchased for $10.

    Student & College Tickets MUST be purchased through at the Ticket Office by phone at 319-366-8203 or in-person at 119 Third Avenue SE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401.

    Health and Safety

    Face coverings are not required for this concert. If, as a member of our audience, you feel more comfortable wearing a mask, please feel free to do so. Orchestra Iowa reserves the right to change this masking policy in response to changes in public health conditions, CDC recommendations, and updated policies by federal, state, and local jurisdictions. Additional Details

    Listen to Miko Kominami on Spotify: