Verdi Requiem Chorus

Posted On

Verdi Requiem Chorus

Orchestra Iowa Building
119 3rd Ave. SE, Cedar Rapids, IA

Orchestra Iowa is forming a chorus specifically for the purpose of performing Verdi’s Requiem in March 2023. We have scheduled rehearsals in an attempt to allow others to participate in area community choirs with minimal interruption. This choir is geared for singers ages 16 and older. There is no compensation for singers chosen to be in the choir.

Audition Dates & Times
  • Saturday, August 20, 2022: 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sunday, August 21, 2022: 2:00pm – 6:00pm
  • Friday, September 9, 2022: 3:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thursday, September 29, 2022: 3:00pm – 8:00pm
  • Saturday, October 1, 2022: 11:00am – 4:00pm

Audition Requirements

  • Complete an application and bring it with you to auditions, or email completed form to aohrt@orchestraiowa.com prior to your audition date
  • Sing scales
  • Sing an acapella song of your choice (i.e., Star Spangled Banner, My Country ‘Tis of Thee, etc.)

No accompanist will be provided; please do not bring recorded tracks or links

Audition Sign Up: https://calendly.com/orchestraia/verdi

Notification
Auditionees will be notified of their results by email no later than Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Chorus Rehearsals (3:00-5:30pm at Kirkwood Community College Performing Arts area)

  • Sunday, January 15, 2023
  • Sunday, January 28, 2023
  • Sunday, February 5, 2023
  • Sunday, February 12, 2023
  • Sunday, February 19, 2023
  • Sunday, February 26, 2023
  • Sunday, March 5, 2023

Rehearsals with Orchestra Iowa
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 (7:00-10:00pm) – Rehearsal w/ Orchestra (Paramount Theatre)
Thursday, March 9, 2023 (8:00-10:00pm) – Rehearsal w/ Orchestra (Paramount Theatre)

Performances with Orchestra Iowa
Friday, March 10, 2023 (7:30pm) – Hancher Auditorium (Iowa City, IA)
Saturday, March 11, 2023 (7:30pm) – Paramount Theatre (Cedar Rapids, IA)