Section Cello

Posted On

Section Cello

Tuesday, August 29, 2023

Orchestra Iowa Building
119 3rd Ave. SE, Cedar Rapids, IA

About the position…

Orchestra Iowa performs symphonic, operatic, ballet, musical theatre and youth concerts throughout Iowa. Concerts are primarily presented in Cedar Rapids and Iowa City, with additional performances taken throughout the state. Chamber ensembles from the Orchestra perform educational concerts through its Pied Piper Series (pre-school concerts presented at libraries) and Music in the Schools (performances in elementary school classrooms). These ensembles are also featured in recital on the Shuttleworth Chamber Series, presented at the Orchestra’s Opus Concert Café and broadcast statewide on Iowa Public Radio.

Section Cello is a Group B2 position with a fifty (50) service guarantee. Starting per service rate is $104.00 and travel/housing reimbursements may also be available. Orchestra Iowa is a member of the Regional Orchestra Players Association (ROPA) and operates under a Collective Bargaining Agreement with the American Federation of Musicians.

Audition Information

Auditions will take place on Monday, Oct 16, 2023 at the Orchestra Iowa building in Cedar Rapids, IA.

To secure an audition time, please complete the registration form (attached) and return along with a resume and $25 audition deposit no later than Oct 6, 2023.

Candidates will be notified of their audition time via email by Oct 11. Please note that the preliminary rounds of the audition will be screened. The audition committee has the option to remove the screen in subsequent rounds.

The winning candidate must already be eligible to work in the United States.

No Email registrations.

Audtion Materials

Required Solo Repertoire

First movement of a standard concerto – exposition only.

Orchestral Excerpts
Beethoven Symphony No. 5 Mvt. II: beginning to m 10 m 49 – 59 m 98 – 106 m 114 – 123 Mvt. III: beginning to m 18 m 52 – 80 m 140 – 181 (use 2nd ending)
Brahms Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn Variation V: Vivace
Brahms Symphony No. 3 Mvt. III: m 1 through m 39
Debussy La Mer 2 m before [9] through 6 m after [9] (top line)
Mendelssohn A Midsummernight’s Dream Scherzo: © to [D] [N] to [O]
Mozart Marriage of Figaro m 139 through m 145 m 156 through m 164
Strauss Don Juan first page